How to Turn Off Shared Endorsements in Google

Google has  revised its policies relating to how your information including Profile names, Photos etc could be used in advertisements as well as product endorsements.

How Shared Endorsements work

How Shared Endorsements work

Here is how shared endorsements actually work: Say if you have written a review, followed, shared or  +1 an app in the Google Play store, or a Google places, Maps etc, Google can share your information like profile, photo and etc when your friends visit those pages. Actually Google says it can use these information in commercial as well as promotional contexts. These hold good for other Google services like Music store, Google+ pages etc To know more about Shared Endorsements work, click here.

If you would like to turn off the shared endorsement, here is what you must do:

How to Turn off Shared Endorsement

  • Login to your Google account
  • Go to shared endorsements page (can be accessed via Google+ page) or click here  for direct access
  • Scroll down the page and uncheck the box besides “Based on my activity, Google may show my name and profile photo in shared endorsements that appear in ads.
  • Click on Save

 

 



Comments are closed.